Skip to content
May 23, 2013 / Car

a basic muffin

This muffin recipe is a huge favorite. Mostly because it is so versatile. The core recipe is so basic that any number of things can be added to make almost any muffin you wish.

Main ingredients:

2/3 cup milk
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
1 1/2 cups flour blend*
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted, or applesauce

1. Grease your muffin pan, or line with paper baking cups.
This recipe makes about 12 standard size muffins.
Note: I do not preheat my oven at the point, I will explain why later.

2. Combine: milk & cider vinegar in a small bowl. Let stand about 10 minutes.
You can use pretty much any type of milk you wish; rice, almond, buttermilk, etc.
If you decide to use buttermilk, add a teaspoon of baking soda to the dry ingredients mixture.

3. Combine: flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, & salt in a medium bowl.

4. Add milk mixture, egg, vanilla, & butter to the flour mixture. Stir until just moistened. Batter should look thick but not lumpy.

5. Let stand 10-15 minutes.
In my experience, the end result is better when the mixture has been allowed to stand before going into the oven. The flours and starches seem to combine better and make a fluffier, less crumbly result.

6. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

7. While the oven is preheating, fill each muffin cup about half full with batter.

8. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top.

9. Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until lightly brown.

10. Remove muffins from pan to cool completely.

~~~

OK. That’s the basics. Here are the options that I have come up with so far.

Surprise muffins: Spoon about 1 tablespoon batter into each muffin cup. Drop 1 teaspoon of jam, jelly, or preserves into the center of the batter in each cup. Top with the remaining batter.

Blueberry muffins: Add 1 to 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries to the dry ingredients mixture. Don’t use cinnamon in this recipe. Sprinkle the tops with plain sugar.

Snaking Surprise muffins (as found in the 3 in 1 Gluten-Free Cookbook ): Add 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries to the dry ingredients mixture. Spoon about 1 tablespoon batter into each muffin cup. Drop 1 teaspoon of jam, jelly, or preserves into the center of the batter in each cup. Top with the remaining batter.
~~~
*for this recipe I have used store-bought gf flour blends, and I have made my own. I really haven’t come across a preference. This recipe tastes pretty amazing no matter what.

When I make my own, I use equal parts of whatever I have in my cupboard. Just remember you need at least 1 cup of a flour for every cup of a starch.

Right now I have oat flour, tapioca starch and cornstarch in my cupboard. So if I made a flour blend I would use 2-3 cups oat flour, 1 cup tapioca starch, & 1 cup cornstarch.

Here is a flour blend that I have used a like a lot:
1 cup rice flour (white, brown or sweet)
1 cup sorghum flour
1 cup tapioca starch
1 cup cornstarch or potato starch
1 cup almond flour
Leave a Reply

